Consular Information

May 11, 2007 at 7:20 am Leave a comment

Entry and exit visas for foreign nationals are issued by the Visa Section of the Ministry of External Relations of Mongolia, the Mongolian diplomatic or the consular mission, and/or Honorary Consuls of Mongolia unless it has been regulated by specific bilateral conventions.

Short-term visitors who plan to stay in Mongolia less than 30 days do not need a letter of invitation when applying for Mongolian visa. Those who plan to stay for more than 30 days require an invitation from state administrative organization, political party, public organization, economic entity, Mongolian citizen, or foreign citizen who has resided in Mongolia for more than three months. Mongolian residents and foreign citizens residing in Mongolia for an extended period must have their invitations to be approved by the Citizens registration and information bureau.

Those who apply for a Mongolian visa need to complete one application form and submit one passport size photos. Faster services will entail fee surcharges of up to 100% of the normal fee. Transit visas for stays of 48 hours or less require an onward ticket, a visa for the next destination and a fee of US$15. Only the Ministry of External Relations will issue multiple entry/exit visas. The Mongolian visa can also be issued by the Immigration Officers at the international airport at a fee of US$50.

Fees charged for Mongolian visa

Current fees for the Mongolian visas

Type of Visa

Fee in US$

Entry/exit visa

25 /for urgent-50$/

1 transit visa


2 transit visa


Multiple entry/exit visa valid for 6 months

65 /for urgent-130$/

Multiple entry/exit visa valid for 12 months

130 /for urgent-260$/

7-day extension

15 plus 2 for each additional 1 day of extension

Fines for visa violation

up to 75

Source: Ministry of Foreign Affairs

Mongolia has consular conventions with Afghanistan, Bulgaria, China, Cuba, Czech Republic, DPRK, Hungary, Laos, Romania, Russia, United Kingdom, USA, Vietnam, and Yugoslavia. Mongolia has treaties on mutual legal assistance with Bulgaria, China, Cuba, Czech, DPRK, France, Germany, Hungary, India, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Poland, ROK, Romania, Russia, Turkey, Ukraine, Yugoslavia, and Vietnam.


Entry filed under: Consular Information.

Business Information Hotel Information

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


May 2007
« Jan   Aug »

Blog Stats

  • 14,571 hits

Top Posts


Information contained in this web site are partly derived from a CD-ROM "Guide to Investment and Trade-Mongolia", produced by Foreign Investment and Foreign Trade Agency (FIFTA). All trademarks are properties of their own respective owners.

%d bloggers like this: